Skip to content

Two New Recipes

November 15, 2011

Rain, rain, go away!

It’s rainy here today, and while I normally like the rain, I don’t like when it messed up plans. I didn’t initially plan on working out today, because I am super sore from the past few days workouts (viewable on my workout log), but then I get the itch to move. I would love to go for a nice walk, but don’t feel like getting all wet. C’est la vie. Guess it’s a yoga day for this gal! I could probably use the stretching anyways.

So- now I have a few recipes for you guys. The first one is my own, and the second is Giada’s. Yes, Giada de Laurentiis. I simply adore her, and have yet to make one of her recipes that I didn’t like. Let’s start with MY recipe:

“Cookie Dough” Oatmeal.

After seeing a similar recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie’s site, I decided to try my hand at my own. Her recipe calls for baking hers, but I never really feel like doing something such as that for breakfast, especially when Brendon and I are starving. So, I made my own recipe.

Serves: 2

1.5 cups Almond milk

1 scoop Chocolate Protein Powder (I used Amazing Grass)

1/2 tbsp Earth Balance (or butter)

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp vanilla extract

1.5 cups oatmeal (quick cooking)

optional add ins: coconut, raisins, craisins, chocolate chips, nuts

—–

Add the milk, protein powder, butter, sugar, and vanilla to a pot over medium-high heat. Let it boil. Once boiling, add the oats and any other mix-ins (I added a small handful of raisins). Turn the heat to low, and let cook about 5 minutes. Pour into serving dishes and enjoy! I added some shredded coconut to mine, and left it as is for Brendon. We both really enjoyed it! Since he normally goes for the pre-mixed oatmeal packets, I was glad he actually enjoyed a homemade dish where I could add whatever it is I wanted to it! Further more, you could add ground flax, use vanilla protein powder instead, omit or use a different kind of sugar, whatever! It’s really versatile, and I feel it would be delicious any way you make it.

Now for Giada’s recipe. I made this for my lunch today, but it serves as more of a side dish, rather than a main course. Along with that, I had to use a few substitutes, because I did not have mushrooms (mine spoiled!) or cooking wine, and cut the recipe in half.

Spicy Parmesan Green Beans and Kale

(Original recipe found HERE)

2 tbsp olive oil

Half an onion, chopped

(about) 1/2 pound green beans (ends cut off, and cut in half)

pinch of salt & black pepper

1/8 cup distilled white wine vinegar

1/2 bunch kale (de-stemmed, chopped or torn into smaller, bite-sized pieces)

pinch of red pepper flakes

juice of about 1/3 lemon

as much parmesan cheese as you’d like (I used the grated kind, versus the fresh)

—–

Warm the olive oil in a large skillet with the onion over medium-high heat, until the onion becomes soft. (About 3, 4 minutes) Add the green beans, salt and pepper and let cook about 4 more minutes. Add the wine, kale, and red pepper flakes. Let cook until the kale wilts, taking about 5 minutes or so. Add the lemon juice, and let sit for another 2 minutes or so. Serve, and top with parmesan cheese! I let mine stay rather crisp. My beans were crunchy and the onions were a little crunchy too, but if you prefer your vegetables to be softer (like Brendon), I suggest turning the heat down very low, covering the pan, and letting sit about 5-10 extra minutes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

