Skip to content

Homemade Cranberry Sauce

November 21, 2011
tags:

Only 3 days until Thanksgiving!

I cannot wait. Tomorrow afternoon we’re leaving for Georgia to spend a few days with my family, except we have to leave Thanksgiving day to come home. Better to be there for a few days than none at all! I am super excited. I’ve got pumpkin pies made,

and also made some homemade cranberry sauce. With a recipe to boot!

Homemade Cranberry Sauce

Makes: About 2 cups full

-Juice of one orange (makes about 1/2 cup full)

-Zest of half an orange

-Water (about 1/2 cup)

-1/2 cup sugar

-1 Tbsp agave nectar

-1 bag of cranberries, fresh or frozen

—–

First, juice your orange into a 1-cup measuring cup. Once juiced, (it will make about 1/2 cup, as mentioned above), fill the cup the rest of the way with water to measure out a total of 1 cup liquid. So, it’ll basically be 1/2 cup juice, 1/2 cup water. I zested half the orange right into the measuring cup. Pour the juice/water/zest mixture into a medium-sized pot, along with the sugar and agave nectar. Consequently, other recipes I found use 1 cup of sugar. You can do this, but I wanted to try and reduce the sugar, hence my measurements. Bring this to a boil.

Once boiling, add the cranberries and return to a boil. The cranberries will pop and burst open and the juice will slowly turn into that magnificent magenta color. Once boiling, reduce the heat to a simmer and let sit for about 10 minutes or so, until the juice reduces a little.

Once the time is up, you can let it sit in the pot to cool, or pour into a serving dish to further cool. Once at room temperature, cover and store in the fridge until ready to serve! (If making the day of, I suggest letting it sit at LEAST 2 hours in the fridge before serving.) Enjoy!

(Link Love: Carrie’s Homemade Sauce & Tone It Up’s Healthier Sauce)

Tomorrow I plan on making an apple pie before we leave, and will probably be spending tonight and tomorrow morning packing, which we haven’t even began yet. I do, however, have the makeup I’m going to bring in a bag. Priorities, people! Just kidding, but I’ve got my list of what we need to bring so it’ll be easy-peasy tomorrow to grab it all up. Have a great night, and have a VERY Happy Thanksgiving!

Question: Do you count calories and stick to your healthy eating habits on holidays, like Thanksgiving? Or do you forget and don’t bother with them and eat?

I forget them! Holidays only come once a year (namely Christmas and Thanksgiving… and Easter) and they’re the few times a year I want to fully enjoy myself. Sometimes I feel lethargic and bad about eating it all, but I get over it and think, I won’t do this again until next year! These are the few days where desserts are present and almost a necessity, and when the best foods come out. I hope you all at least enjoy your holiday, no matter what your habits!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

